First-Time Possession Charge in Florida
You can get into legal trouble just for having certain drugs in your possession. In these cases, you have not manufactured, distributed, or sold the controlled substance. Instead, the charge is usually against individuals who have an illegal material that is intended for personal use.
Possession of most controlled substances will result in a felony charge in Florida. However, the prosecution must prove specific facts to convict you of drug possession.
What Are the Elements of a Drug Possession Charge in Florida?
Every drug possession charge must meet a few requirements to actually be considered a drug crime. For instance, whether the substance is illegal or controlled. Florida law defines very specific materials as “controlled substances.” Most controlled substances will need to be tested to prove what they are.
Second, you must have prior knowledge of the drug. To be charged with drug possession, you need to actually know, or the prosecution must prove that you should have known, that the drug was illegal and that it was present.
Lastly, you must be in control of the drug. You must have also had control of the drug to be properly charged. For example, if the drug was in your roommate's room, you may not have known it was there or had control over it to trigger a possession charge.
If you have been charged with any drug crime, contact us today and schedule a case review!
Drug Possession Charges in Florida
Because marijuana is legal for medical purposes in Florida, you can have up to a certain amount on your person without worrying about a possession charge, as long as you have a prescription for it. The same is not true with regard to other types of drugs.
You can be charged with a third-degree felony if you have:
- More than 20 grams of Marijuana
- Up to 28 grams of cocaine
- Up to 10 grams of ecstasy
- Up to 1 gram of LSD
- Up to 4 grams of heroin or other opiates
A third-degree felony can include up to five years of prison time. There are additional controlled substances as well, but these are the most common. If you have more than these amounts, the penalties increase up to a first-degree felony. A first-degree felony can be up to 30 years in prison with up to $250,000 in fines.
Drug possession charges are frightening. Allow us to help ensure you receive a fair trial, Schedule aFree Strategy Review today!
Possession Charges for Minors
Juveniles are treated somewhat differently when it comes to drug possession charges in Florida. The charges themselves are the same, but your child will likely be charged in delinquency court depending on the drug, the amount, and your child's criminal history. Juvenile delinquency court alleges possession as a “delinquent act” providing minors a way to avoid being convicted of the “crime” of possession.
Juveniles with little or no criminal history may be eligible for a diversion program resulting in the charge eventually being dropped by the State in exchange for the child completing a probationary period and performing certain tasks such as remaining drug and crime-free, completing a drug treatment program; it can include individual, group, and family counseling. The diversion programs usually last six months to a year. It can also require random drug testing, educational support, and monitoring. The goal of the program is to get minors off drugs and keep drug charges off their record.
You may need to ask to get your child's case diverted, and Attorney Malcolm Anthony can help with this process. Contact him today for more information about this program or to discuss other potential options if you or a loved one has been charged with a drug possession crime.
Our Jacksonville criminal defense attorney is ready to help fight for your future, schedule a case review now and see how we can help!
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment