Jacksonville DUI attorney Malcolm Anthony fights for the rights of those that have been arrested and charged with DUI. Don’t be fooled by the supposed leniency of the proposed new first-time DUI legislation. Being charged with DUI for the first time is a serious crime that requires the best, most knowledgeable and experienced legal advice possible. If you have been arrested and charged with DUI, call Florida DUI defense attorney Malcolm Anthony today.
The Proposed New Florida DUI Legislation
Florida legislators are seeking to assist police in keeping drunk drivers off of the road by recently proposing a bill that would require first-time DUI offenders to place, at their own expense, an ignition interlock device on all vehicles under their control. An ignition interlock device cost around $3 per day. Under current Florida law, an ignition interlock device is required only for multiple DUI offenders or if a person has a blood alcohol content (BAC) over 0.15, which is almost twice the legal limit of .08. The Bill has passed the Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee and now must pass through two more committees to reach the floor of the Florida House of Representatives for a vote.
An interesting note in the bill is that first time DUI offenders would be required to place the device on their vehicles for 6 months after which time a person’s record would be eligible to be sealed contingent on them having no prior criminal record.
There are 28 other states that currently impose similar requirements on first-time DUI offenders in an effort to recognize that people make mistakes. Under current Florida DUI statutes, the penalties for first-time DUI offenders in Florida could be as severe as vehicle impoundment, fines, driver’s license suspension, and jail time as well as having to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicles, not to mention an astronomical increase in one’s automobile insurance premiums and receiving a criminal record.