Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious criminal offense in the state of Florida. When a DUI arrest includes leaving the scene of an accident, as well as killing the driver of another vehicle you need to get professional legal help immediately. At the Law Offices of Malcolm Anthony, we know that there could be circumstances that caused this behavior to be a one-time incident and if you are convicted we can argue for a sentence of probation.
According to Florida Statute 316.06, leaving the scene of an accident can be charged when a driver is involved in a traffic accident that involves another vehicle or other personal property and then leaves the scene voluntarily without first stopping to wait for the police to arrive and identifying themselves. As a crash relates to the death of another person, Florida Statute 316.027, you are required to not only stop at the accident but also to call 911 and to render assistance in whatever way possible.
DUI Leaving The Scene of an Accident Causing Death
The crime of DUI leaving the scene of an accident involving death is one of the most serious in the state with penalties that rank up there with murder and rape. If convicted a person will receive a minimum of 21 months in prison, up to 30 years. The judge is free to use discretion to combine a longer prison sentence and a period of probation. Bad luck can happen to anyone and if this is your first conviction and have no criminal record it is likely the judge may go more lightly on you than if this is your 3rd DUI and have not learned your lesson. It is up to the judge to make a determination as to the likelihood of the behavior repeating.
If you have been involved in a DUI and an accident where a person was killed, or perhaps you left the scene of an accident and were subsequently charged with a DUI, you need to call Jacksonville DUI attorney Malcolm Anthony immediately. You are innocent until proven guilty and have the right to remain silent.